The Final Rose

The trip home was a very, very long one.  With layovers and delays it took us about 24 hours.  Major ick.

Because we stopped in Fiji first, our flight routed us through Fiji on the way home.  Getting off the plane in Fiji I was so sad because the Fijians were greeting us in song, it was warm and I was remembering the magical time we had just spent there.  I really wanted to go back to Tavarua and see our new friends and surf at the Rights.  And if not that, I just wanted to be home.

Waiting in the tiny little airport for our flight to board, Kevin says “Dude!”  Kevin does not call me dude.  “Dude!  That’s the guy from the Bachelor!”  I looked over and sure enough, there was Chris Harrison in all his glory, wearing white shorts, dabbing the grease off his pizza and chatting with “family.”

Knowing my and my friends slight obsession with the show, Kevin was adamant about me getting a photo with him.  I was shy though and didn’t want to bug him while he was eating.  If he came our way, game on.

Well, he came our way and Kevin confidently walked up to him and said, “Excuse me, Chris?”  Like he’d known him forever, then asked him to snap a photo with me.

He was surprisingly handsome in a game show host kind of way and very friendly, asking us where we’d stayed and we asked him the same.  He said he was travelling with family but I’d put money on this upcoming season finale of the Bachelorette landing in Fiji!